Babbalucci

If I had an autobiography my trip to Babbalucci’s would go under the chapter titled ‘Everything I Thought I Knew About Pizza Toppings Was Wrong’ because one of their pies blew my ‘less is more’ approach right out of the damn water.

Being the simpleton that I am I went with a safe order of Burrata pizza (my first one!) and while the sauce and cheese were wonderful, it was their stunning crust that was love at first bite. It had more tasty, tangy black spots than you can shake a stick at and the chewiness was top notch. Seriously one of the best crusts I’ve ever had. My only wish was for the burrata to have been saltier but that was no deal killer.

20170225_210701

However it paled in comparison to their St Nic white pie which is topped with a mind blowing mix of mozzarella, gorgonzola, grana, ricotta, prosciutto, mushrooms and truffle oil. Thank cheesus I have friends that are more adventurous than I am when it comes to ordering pizza.

20170225_210652

We ended up ordering a second one because we couldn’t accept that it was over after we finished the first one.

What really impressed me was how the gorgonzola balanced out the saltiness of the prosciutto. I LOVE prosciutto but I usually find it too salty on pies but the strong flavor of the gorgonzola kind of distracted me from it.

Babbalucci’s pizza menu was extensive and full of interesting topping combinations so definitely stop by to check them out!

Leave a Reply

